Melbourne’s Archbishop honoured with new papal appointment

Sunday 30 October 2016

Media and Communications Office and CNS

Pope Francis has announced ten Cardinals, seven Archbishops and ten Bishops as the new members of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments.
Among them is Archbishop Denis Hart of Melbourne, President of the Australian Catholic Bishops’ Conference.
The congregation, which deals with liturgical questions and the celebration of the sacraments, began as two separate offices until they were joined by Blessed Paul VI in 1975.

This significant appointment of Archbishop Hart to the Congregation has attracted acclaim and joy within the Archdiocese of Melbourne. The Archbishop has expressed gratitude for the trust implied in this appointment, while expressing his readiness to assist the work of the Church in whatever way possible.

After his ordination in 1967, Archbishop Hart was appointed to St Patrick’s Cathedral where he was Prefect of Ceremonies (1970-96), Secretary of the Diocesan Liturgical Commission, and of the National Commission (1975-90), Consultor of the Congregation for Divine Worship (1985-94), Parish Priest (1987-96), Vicar General (1996-2001) Auxilary Bishop (1997) and Archbishop from June 2001. He has been a member of the International Commission for English in the Liturgy (2003-16) and its Vice-President (2012-16), and President of the Australian Catholic Bishops’ Conference since 2012.
The pope also named New Zealand Cardinal John Dew of Wellington to the Congregation.

Several heads of Vatican offices were named to the congregation, including:
Cardinal Pietro Parolin, Vatican secretary of state;
Cardinal Gianfranco Ravasi, president of the Pontifical Council for Culture;
Cardinal Beniamino Stella, prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy;
and Archbishop Piero Marini, president of the Pontifical Committee for International Eucharistic Congresses.
Other cardinals named include:
Cardinals Rainer Maria Woelki of Cologne, Germany;
John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan of Abuja, Nigeria;
Philippe Ouedraogo of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso;
Ricardo Blazquez Perez of Valladolid, Spain;
and Arlindo Gomes Furtado of Cape Verde.
Pope Francis has also appointed as members:
Archbishop Dominic Jala of Shillong, India;
Archbishop Domenico Sorrentino of Assisi, Italy;
Archbishop Bernard-Nicolas Aubertin of Tours, France;
Archbishop Romulo G. Valles of Davao, Philippines;
Archbishop Lorenzo Voltolini Esti of Portoviejo, Ecuador;
Bishop Alan Hopes of East Anglia, England;
Bishop Claudio Maniago of Castellaneta, Italy;
Bishop Bernt Ivar Eidsvig of Oslo, Norway;
Bishop Miguel Angel D'Annibale of Rio Gallegos, Argentina;
Bishop Jose Manuel Garcia Cordeiro of Braganca-Miranda, Portugal;
Swiss Bishop Charles Morerod of Lausanne, Geneva and Fribourg;
Auxiliary Bishop Jean-Pierre Kwambamba Masi of Kinshasa, Congo;
Bishop Benny Mario Travas of Multan, Pakistan;
and Auxiliary Bishop John Bosco Chang Shin-Ho of Daegu, South Korea.

The Archdiocese of Melbourne warmly congratulates Archbishop Hart on his appointment.
Previous Article Lifting the lid on Jesus’s tomb
Next Article After new Italian quake, priests advised to have Mass outdoors


Trending Now